Western Association of Women Historians

Barbara "Penny" Kanner Award (revised for 2012)

The Barbara “Penny” Kanner Award is an annual award given to honor a book, book chapter, article, or electronic media that has been verifiably published or posted in the two years prior to the award year and which illustrates the use of a specific set of primary sources (diaries, letters, interviews etc). Award bylaws are available.

[links open in a new browser window]

Previous Winners

Lois W. Banner, MM--Personal: From the Private Archive of Marilyn Monroe (Harry N. Abrams, 2011).

Nwando Achebe, The Female King of Colonial Nigeria: Ahebi Ugbabe (Indiana University Press, 2011).

Elizabeth Heineman, Honorable Mention, Before Porn was Legal: The Erotica Empire of Beate Uhse (University of Chicago, 2011).

Nupur Chaudhuri, Sherry Katz, and Mary Elizabeth Perry, eds. Contesting Archives: Finding Women in the Sources, (University of Illinois Press, 2010).

Melissa Lambert Milewski, Before the Manifesto: The Life Writings of Mary Lois Walker Morris, (Utah State University Press, 2007).

No Award Given.

No Award Given.

Christine Bard, Annie Metz et Valérie Neveu (dir.), Guide des sources de l'histoire du feminisme, (Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 2006).

Karen Offen accepts the Kanner award for Bard, Metz, and Neveu

Karen Offen (above) and Helen Chenut accept the award for Bard, Metz, and Neveu from Maria Elena Raymond, Barbara “Penny” Kanner Award chair

Ronald Loftus, Telling Lives: Women’s Self Writing in Modern Japan, (Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2004).

Allison Booth, How to Make it as a Woman: Collective Biographical History from Victoria to Present, (University of Chicago Press, 2004).

Lynn Hudson, The Making of Mammy Pleasant: A Black Entrepreneur in Nineteenth-Century San Francisco, (University of Illinois Press, 2002).

Sheridan Harvey, et al., Eds. American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States, (Lebanon, NH: University of New England Press, 2002).

No Award Given.

No Award Given.

No Award Given.

cover - Northwest Women1999
Karen J. Blair, Northwest Women: An Annotated Bibliography of Sources on the History of Oregon and Washington Women, 1787-1970, (Washington State University Press, 1997).


No Award Given.

Mary Lynn McCree, Nancy Slote, and Maree De Anguary, The Jane Addams Papers: A Comprehensive Guide, (Indiana University Press, 1996). [see: Swarthmore College's Jane Addams Collection]

No Award Given.

Candace Falk, Emma Goldman: A Guide to Her Life and Documentary Sources, (Chadwyck-Healy, 1995). [Full text online]

Yaffa Claire Draznin, "My Other Self": The Letters of Olive Schreiner and Havelock Ellis, 1884-1920, (Peter Lang Publishing, 1992.)


Read more about the Barbara "Penny" Kanner Prize



updated May 24, 2013


The Western Association of Women Historians was founded in 1969 to promote the interests of women historians both in academic settings and in the field of history generally.

Drawing scholars from the Western states, the WAWH is the largest of the regional women's historical associations in the U.S.

The WAWH encourages the participation of academic historians and independent scholars, and welcomes literary scholars and art, theater, and film specialists.